Keeping busy: what I’ve been doing in the past few weeks

Leaving the harbour of Ostend (Belgium).

Leaving the harbour of Ostend (Belgium).

These past few weeks have flown by so quickly. I finished editing a book, spent about a month travelling in July/August and have just started my own business. I don’t even know where to start…

The book I’m talking about is actually a volume I edited with a Dutch colleague on the dynastic identity of early modern aristocratic families, which will normally be published in December of this year by Ashgate publishers. If you want to know more about it, you can find details on their website. It took us about 4 years to finish it, I don’t think either one of us imagined it to take that long. Not that this in itself is an exception in academia, my husband is waiting on a publication to come out which he wrote about 8 years ago…. So things could be worse 😉

The good thing about finishing a project, any project, is the mental rest that comes with it. After I sent my final e-mail this Saturday,  I felt completely exhausted. I couldn’t think of anything else, I just wanted to go to sleep early. I’m still really tired strangly enough, but it also feels as though my head is clearing up and new ideas are slowly filling it up again. That feels so wonderful!

I need that space too, because I have decided to become an entrepreneur! Not that this is a new idea. This is something that I’ve been thinking about for ages. It was more of a nagging feeling I had for years and years that I needed to set up something for myself. The only problem was that I was never able to settle on just one idea 😉 I’ve recently come to the realisation that I am what is called a ‘creative generalist’. I seldom have less than 10 ideas in my head, rarely think about less than 5 books to write, and I am bored disturbingly easy (and quickly).  With every job I’ve done came boredom, not after 10 years, but usually after about 6 months. This is something I was never able to talk about, because most people don’t seem to understand this or expect you to do the same job for at least 5 years. Oh hell on earth, the same routine for 5 years or more?

The only thing that has kept me interested is history research, and thankfully it still does. Which is probably why I decided to start as a historical consultant, although that doesn’t even begin to describe all the things I want to do. As soon as I get a (temporary) website going, I’ll write more on this.

And I had such an amazing vacation! My husband gives lectures on board of cruise ships during summer and this means our family vacations are largely spent on board ships, visiting beautiful cities or enjoying the scenery. We were on a Russian cruise in July travelling from Moscow to St-Petersburg, and in August we cruised the Mediterranean. I could not possibly put all of those experiences and impressions in one blog post, so again, more on this later.

Until next time!

Leave a Reply

